Order of Saint Francis
Religious Third Order Sisters

The Franciscan family consists of friars, nuns and lay people. The Second Order of Saint Francis is known as the Poor Clares, or formally, OSC - Order of Saint Clare. There is also the Third Order Regular with friars (some priests) and sisters. Then there are other sisters in our great family, and they belong to the Third Order - OSF. We do not believe that it is possible for us to name them all, because there are a great many. However, by searching for their websites, we provide you with the following links. This is useful for people who might discern a vocation to any one of these religious orders of Third Order Sisters who follow the Rule of Saint Francis. We list such websites here after carefully reviewing their information. This listing does not imply any particular endorsement on our part.

USA Franciscan Federation Third Order Regular of USA - Directory (off-line .pdf)
     This is probably the most complete list of addresses available for 2007.

Sisters of St. Francis of Perpetual Adoration, Mishawaka, IN
Franciscan Sisters of Allegany, Allegheny, NY
Bernardine Sisters of the Third Order of Saint Francis, Reading, PA
Sisters of Saint Francis of Philadelphia, Aston, PA
Sisters of Saint Francis of Penance and Christian Charity, Denver, CO (and other places)
School Sisters of the Third Order of Saint Francis, Panhandle, TX (their Motherhouse is in Germany)

If other Roman Catholic Franciscan "OSF" sisterhoods wish to be listed here, please let us know. Thank You. (Please advise your Approbation status.)